top of page

Just Behind The Creek:

​Field Recordings at Kickin' It on the Creek 2019



Artist: Various Artists

Title: Just Behind the Creek: Field Recording at Kickin' It on the Creek 2019

Available: 1/29/2021


Kickin' It On The Creek is now one of the best music festivals in Appalachia, organized by Byron Roberts of Wolfpen Productions and staged in Ross Creek, Kentucky, at Robert’s farm. The festival started in 2015, after a successful celebration for Robert’s son and a CD benefit for Tyler Childers in 2014. Since then, Kickin’ It on the Creek has been featuring local and regional bands in the mountains of Estill and Lee County Kentucky, as well as practitioners of traditional music styles from all over the country. This album, “Just Behind the Creek: Field Recording at Kickin’ It on the Creek 2019” was recorded at Robert’s living room just behind the stage, and shows a wide variety of music with renowned and talented musicians playing traditional tunes as well as their own beautiful original songs. The record features various artists such as Grammy nominated fiddler Bobby Britt (Town Mountain), Jesse Wells (Tyler Childers & The Food Stamps), Joe Macheret (The Tillers & Joe’s Truck Stop), Montana Hobbs (The Local Honeys), Chris Shouse (Hancock & Shouse), Teresa Prince (Luna and the Mountain Jets), Brett Ratliff, Senora May and many others, and “truly captures the magic of this mountain music we so dearly treasure” as told by the festival owner Roberts. He also says, “Music heals in a lot more ways than we all realize”, and “Music has helped the people of Appalachia through rough times for generations”. Kickin’ It on the Creek is now playing a significant role in connecting music lovers and healing the people with the great mountain music, as well as showcasing the real Appalachian culture.


“Just Behind the Creek: Field Recording at Kickin’ It on the Creek 2019” documents current situation of various kinds of mountain music played by 19 artists, and shows how musical traditions in the mountains are inherited to younger generations with their own flavors. They represents the current Appalachian music culture, and will help the people of Appalachia to get over these rough times.

Track Listing:


Side A

1. Improvisation - Little Pine Siskin - Out of the Woods / Bobby Britt from Town Mountain

2. Existential / Bobby Britt from Town Mountain

3. Pepsi Girl / Teresa Prince from Luna and the Mountain Jets

4. Pass Around the Bottle / Brett Ratliff

5. Glory in the Meeting House / Blakeley Burger

6. All Night Long Blues / Blakeley Burger & Don Rogers

7. Bluegrass Meadows / Blakeley Burger & Don Rogers

8. Greek Medley / Don Rogers


Side B

9. I Love My Honey / Montana Hobbs

10. Boatin' Up Sandy / Montana Hobbs & Blakeley Burger

11. Ashokan Farewell / John Thomas

12. Oceans / Walter DeBarr

13. The Semblance of Movin' On / Ritch Henderson

14. If It's Only for Tonight / Ritch Henderson



Side C

15. Red Mountain Wine / Joe Macheret from The Tillers

16. Bowling Green / Sean Geil from The Tillers

17. I Saw a Man at the Close of Day / Sean Geil from The Tillers

18. Don't Have a Clue / Chris Shouse from Hancock & Shouse

19. Darkness of the Light / Chris Shouse from Hancock & Shouse

20. Alive (somehow) / Crownover

21. Dust on the Pillowcase / Zach Russell


Side D

22. Muddy Creek / Jesse Wells

23. Bluegrass Meadows / Jesse Wells & Will Parsons

24. Uncle Joe / Jesse Wells & Will Parsons

25. Worried Mary / Abe Partridge

26. Appalachian Farewell / Abe Partridge

27. Gypsy Home / Padre Paul Handelman

28. All of My Love / Senora May

29. Semper Fi / Senora May

*Recorded: September 20 & 21, 2019 at 5th annual Kicin' It on the Creek

*Mastered by Timothy Stollenwerk, Stereophonic Mastering


bottom of page